Cleaning a black-headed gull

I did some work in the conservation department today. Tomorrow some animals will be taken to a meeting so that our Handling Volunteers can get used to them. The animals are from the Discovery Centre but a few of them were a little dusty, so I decided to give them a clean.

I’ll focus on the gull, as I used a technique I hadn’t tried before with him. Some of his wing and chest feathers were a little dusty, so I used Wishab Powder, which is a ground spongey material. This is gently rubbed onto the feathers to erase dirt.

Once this is done the feathers are gently brushed and hoovered to remove any wishab and loose dirt.

All ready to meet the volunteers tomorrow!:

About Gina Allnatt

I have just finished a year long traineeship as a Biology Curator at Manchester Museum. I am currently a research and curation volunteer in the Entomology and Botany departments. -Gina Allnatt
This entry was posted in Conservation and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

